At Hunton we believe in providing our pupils with the best foundation so all children can ‘live life in all its fullness’. John 10:10

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) consists of seven areas of learning and development.

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy                
  • Mathematics  
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development



The Early Years Curriculum is underpinned by three characteristics of learning; playing and exploring, being an active learner and creating and thinking. At Hunton we believe children learn best when they are learning through play and our learning environments are carefully planned to promote children’s independence and their ability to make decisions.  

We offer well-planned environments both indoors and out. We provide continuous provision which is available for the children all year round and enhanced provision which can be a specific challenge or activity. These activities are constantly updated, extended and renewed based on the children’s interests, strengths and needs.

We are extremely lucky to have a fantastic learning environment both inside and out that provide plenty of opportunities for the children to explore, investigate, discover and problem solve. 


Transition is very important and we are lucky at Hunton to have the unique situation where our pupils regardless of year group spend time together during playtime and lunchtime. To support their transition, each Reception child is paired up with a pupil from Year 6 at one of their transition sessions before starting school in September.

This has many benefits, which include the younger children having a friendly face from day one, but allows the older children to display empathy and compassion as  well as performing a mentoring role for the younger pupils. Throughout the year, we provide a range of opportunities for the children to spend time with their buddy. For example, the teddy bear's picnic, settling sessions, come and play and reading sessions.